Strategic Plan

On 18 June 2007, on the occasion of the Seychelles National Day, the President of the Republic of Seychelles, Mr James Alix Michel, made an historic announcement – the creation of the Seychelles University Foundation, with the mandate to establish the first university for Seychelles. In his statement he outlined the vision for the further development of education in Seychelles and how this will contribute to achieving the development goals of the country, transforming it into a knowledge-based society. It is fitting that the President is, himself, Chancellor of the University and that Professor Rolph Payet, the first Vice-Chancellor and now Minister of Environment and Energy, is the university’s Pro Chancellor.

Two years later, the university admitted its first students. Since then, numbers have grown, the range of courses has widened and the university operates across three campuses. In pursuit of its Mission, UniSey offers courses that will be of value to the national economy and society, catering for in-service students as well as full-time undergraduates. The university also offers the innovative Seychelles Young Leaders Programme, designed to nurture future leaders.

Partnerships have been forged with a number of internationally recognized institutions, namely, The University of London, Université de La Réunion, Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne, Edith Cowan University in Perth Australia, the University of Mauritius and Amity University in India.

To carry its work forward, the university is organised through three Faculties, supported, in turn, by a professional Registry.

The work of senior managers is complemented by a set of committees, of which the Senate (chaired by the Vice-Chancellor) is the supreme internal body and the Council (chaired by the Pro Chancellor) provides strategic guidance for the university.

View our Strategic Plan 2017-2021