About Seychelles

The Republic of Seychelles is an archipelago of 115 islands scattered across the Indian Ocean off the East Coast of Africa between 4 and 10 degrees south of the Equator. Seychelles occupies a land area of 455 km² with an Exclusive Economic Zone of 1.4 million km² in the Indian Ocean. The 115 islands are either granitic or coralline and they are categorized as 41 Inner Islands and 74 Outer Islands. The Seychelles islands are the only mid oceanic islands in the world and the granitic islands are considered the oldest and hardest granite in the world.

The Islands

Culture & Society



Read more about our islands Read more about our culture and society


For more information about Seychelles, visit the official website of the Seychelles Tourism Board external-link.jpg